Has Your Child Been Accused Of Assault and Battery?
Having your child accused of juvenile assault and battery is a serious situation and one that should prompt you to get a juvenile defense attorney immediately. Only an experienced juvenile defense attorney will be familiar with the laws and how this procedure typically moves forward. You could be jeopardizing your young child’s rights if you do not retain an experienced attorney.
Unfortunately, assault and battery are some of the most common juvenile offenses that cause minors to be arrested. Every so often, children will argue with one another, fight or even make threats. If they are not careful and if police are contacted, these juveniles could find themselves in handcuffs for assault and battery charges.
The State Of Florida On Assault
The state of Florida defines assault as an intentional unlawful threat by a word or act to do violence to another person or to cause that person to experience fear that such violence is imminent. For adult assault and battery charges, this is classified as a misdemeanor of the second degree and can be punished by fines of up to $500, probation for six months or 60 days in jail.
Qualified Charges In An Assault & Battery
It is important to remember that as the parent of someone who has been accused of juvenile assault and battery, that no physical violence has to take place in order for assault charges to be issued. Assault charges can, therefore, be relatively easy to defend but a battery is a different story.
Defining Battery In Florida
A battery is defined by Florida state law is intentionally and actually striking or touching another person against their will or intentionally causing bodily harm to another person. The following penalties can be faced by a juvenile accused of assault and battery: counseling, probation, residential treatment programs, jail time as an adult, fines, time in a juvenile detention center or misdemeanor and felony charges.
Get Immediate Assitance For Your Child
The first thing on your mind is protecting your child. The best way to protect your child is to get them experienced advocacy and help. Schedule a consultation with an attorney you can trust as soon as possible after your child has been accused.