Driving Violations

Lawyer For Driving Violations Serving Palm Beach CountyDriving with No Insurance

Driving Violations, criminal defense

Florida Motor vehicle No-Fault Law requires all vehicle registrants or owners to carry the minimum required auto insurance.

The minimum insurance required is defined by the State Of Florida as $10,000 bodily injury for one person and $20,000 for two people and $10,000 for property damage.

All licensed insurance companies electronically report to DHSMV when policies providing PIP coverage are canceled.

If your insurance company notifies the HSMV that you canceled a policy, and no other active policy is reported by another insurance company, HSMV will send a letter notifying you they need your auto insurance information.

Penalties For Reinstatement

If your driving privilege is suspended because you are not properly insured, there is a penalty to reinstate your license.  You will be required to pay a reinstatement fee of $150-500 must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.

Driving without License

Driving without a valid license is a second-degree misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to a $500 fine.

If you have been charged or convicted of driving without a license it is important that you do not continue to drive until you are legally licensed and able to do so.  Each time you are charged with driving without a license the penalties you face will become steeper and steeper.

Your rights to a license may be revoked for up to 5 years. An attorney may be able to help you negotiate down the charges.  And can possibly also speed up the process for you to become legally licensed to drive.

Driving with Suspended Revoked License

Driving with a revoked license is a misdemeanor crime in Florida.  However, third-time offenders will be charged with a felony and may carry prison sentences of up to 5 years and/or fines of up to $5000.

If your license has been revoked but you need to drive for a reason such as to get to work then you may be eligible for a “conditional license” or a “hardship license”.  This is a license that allows you to drive under very restrictive conditions.

Only a court can great you such a license and an attorney representing you with your case can greatly help you with the process.

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving in Florida is a crime punishable by actual jail time.  First offense penalties can include up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $500.  A second offense might bring up to six months in jail and up to a $1000 fine.

When property damages occur, whether first offense or not, the penalties are up to a year in prison and up to a $1000 in fines.

Anyone convicted of three Florida reckless driving violations within one year may have their license permanently revoked.

A reckless driving conviction will also result in points on your driving record.  Your insurance rates may go up.  In addition, you will face the possibility of having a permanent criminal record.

Get Help With Your Driving Violations Today

When facing driving violations charges it can be of great help to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you find the best solution for your case.  Michael T. Rabideau has worked all kinds of driving violation charges.

He may be able to negotiate with the prosecuting attorney on your behalf and lower the charges.  Eventually, it may even be possible to wipe the arrest from your record.  The key is to contact an attorney as early in the process as possible.

To schedule a free consultation with Michael call his office today:  (561) 820-4848


Michael T. Rabideau

Contact Us

1 + 1 =