Theft Crimes

Lawyer For Theft Crimes Charges In Palm Beach

Theft Crimes, west palm beach, fl

Theft crimes carry a wide range of penalties and are among the most common criminal charges.

Petty theft is considered a misdemeanor.  Penalties for petty theft can include up to a year in prison.  While petty theft is considered a misdemeanor, a conviction can still lead to big problems.

Type Of Employment

Depending on your type of employment, you might find it difficult in keeping your current job or seeking out a new job.

Grand theft occurs when the value of the goods stolen exceeds $300.  Grand theft charges are considered felony charges.  There are three degrees of felony grand theft and the charge type depends on the value of the goods stolen, the type of goods stolen, as well as if any firearm was used.

Shoplifting Charges

Shoplifting might be charged as either petty theft or grand theft depending upon the value of the goods stolen.

In addition, a person who has two past petty theft convictions will automatically be charged with a minimum of a third-degree felony for any new theft charges which might occur.

Robbery Charges

Robbery is a serious charge that involves the unlawful taking of money or property from another person through the use of force or threat.  It is considered a second-degree felony and the penalties can include:

–      Up to 15 years in prison

–      Up to 15 years of probation

–      Up to $10,000 in fines

Burglary Charges

Burglary charges are often filed as felony charges and could result in very stiff prison sentences.

Florida defines burglary as:   

“entering a dwelling, a structure, or a conveyance with the intent to commit an offense therein, unless the premises are at the time open to the public or the defendant is licensed or invited to enter, or surreptitiously, with the intent to commit an offense therein; after permission to remain therein has been withdrawn, with the intent to commit an offense therein; or to commit or attempt to commit a forcible felony.”

This means you don’t have to actually steal something in order to be charged with burglary.

First Degree

First-degree burglary is a felony charge and involves unlawfully entering the living space of another person.  It is also one strike under Florida‘s “Three Strikes and You’re Out Law”.

If convicted and you commit any other felony down the road your sentence on the new case is doubled.  A person convicted of 1st degree burglary could face up to 30 years in prison.

Second Degree

Second-degree burglary might be charged as a misdemeanor or felony.  If charged with a felony it carries with it a maximum prison sentence of up to 15 years.

Third Degree

Third-degree burglary charges can result in up to 5 years in prison and up to a $5000 fine.  A person found possessing “burglary tools” may be charged with third-degree burglary charges.

Get Help With Your Theft Crimes Charges In Palm Beach

Michael T. Rabideau is a dedicated criminal defense attorney who has vast experience in defending theft charges.

Michael may be able to negotiate with the prosecuting attorney to reduce or even dismiss your theft charges.  To schedule a free consultation with Michael, call his office today:  (561) 820-4848


Michael T. Rabideau

Contact Us

7 + 9 =