Florida Marijuana Possession Attorney
Few states are as strict about criminalizing marijuana than Florida. While medical cannabis is legal in the Sunshine State as a treatment for a wide variety of “debilitating” illnesses, recreational use of the Marijuana is still against the law. In fact, being in possession of 20 grams or less can put you behind bars for up to a year and make you lose your driver’s license for a mandatory two year period. Charges and defenses will vary, it is always best to seek the advice of counsel.
Marijuana Charges And Penalties In South Florida
Because marijuana possession charges carry such significant penalties in Florida it is imperative that you hire an expert criminal defense attorney who can help you defend your case. Michael T. Rabideau is a dedicated criminal defense attorney serving all of Palm Beach, Broward, Martin and St. Lucie Counties. As a 20 year legal veteran, he has amassed a proven track record of success for clients facing drug crime accusations. As a skilled negotiator, he can work with the prosecuting attorney in an attempt to reduce or even dismiss the charges against you.
Marijuana Charges and Penalties in Palm Beach County
Marijuana charges are one of the most common criminal offenses in Florida. In 2017, the Florida Department of Law Enforcement revealed that 42,153 people were arrested for misdemeanor cannabis possession, contributing to 91.5% of total arrests for misdemeanor drug possession crimes.
- Possession of 20 grams or less of Marijuana: The simple possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana/cannabis is a misdemeanor that carries a sentence of up to 12 months in jail and a fine up to $1,000. If this is your first offense, you may just be subject to a $75-$100 fine.
- Possession of more than 20 grams of Marijuana: If you are caught with more than 20 grams of marijuana you will be charged with a third-degree felony. If convicted the penalty calls for up to 5 years of imprisonment and up to a $5000 fine.
- Possession of 25 pounds or less of Marijuana: Being in possession of 25 pounds or less of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
- Possession of more than 25 pounds of Marijuana: If you were in possession of more than 25 pounds of marijuana or 300-2,000 plants, you will be charged with a felony and be subject to a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of up to 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000.
- Possession of more than 2,000 pounds but less than 10,000 pounds of Marijuana: If you were in possession of between 2,000 and 10,000 marijuana plants, you are facing a 7-year mandatory minimum prison sentence with a potential maximum 30 years sentence as well as a maximum fine of $50,000.
- Possession of 10,000 pounds or more of Marijuana: Being in possession of 10,000 pounds of cannabis or more is the most serious marijuana possession charge in Florida. You will be subject to a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $200,000.
Potential Defense Strategies to Beat Marijuana Possession Charges
- You were unaware or lacked knowledge that the material was a controlled substance
- Use of cannabis in accordance with Florida’s medical marijuana law; you had a valid prescription
- You were a victim of entrapment arranged by police
- Your Fourth Amendment rights were violated due to an unlawful search and seizure
To schedule a free consultation with Michael and learn more about your Marijuana Possession Charges and Defense, call his office today: (561) 820-4848